UK Defence Forum

News, History, Discussions and Debates on UK Defence.

Boeing C-17 Globemaster III (RAF)

Contains threads on Royal Air Force equipment of the past, present and future.
User avatar
shark bait
Senior Member
Posts: 5885
Joined: 05 May 2015, 21:18
Location: Pitcairn Island

Re: C-17A Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby shark bait » 15 Jun 2017, 16:13

C-17 doesnt have an unprepared landing cpability like the a400m or c130, allthough it takes measures to protect the engines, it cant escape the 4 big FOD hoovers strapped under the wings.

If it did land on a gravel runway it would allmost definately need an engine rebuild. Instead C-17's occasionally operate from specially prepared runways, like we see in the video, to make operations safe.

source; I design gas turbunes
@LandSharkUK

Smokey
Member
Posts: 272
Joined: 18 Feb 2017, 13:33
Location: Cyprus

Re: C-17A Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby Smokey » 15 Jun 2017, 17:32

USAF C17A Rough Field Takeoff.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Timmymagic
Senior Member
Posts: 1552
Joined: 07 May 2015, 23:57
Location: United Kingdom

Re: C-17A Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby Timmymagic » 10 Jul 2017, 20:52

Not an RAF one but didn't think we'd see one of these thru the Mach Loop...after A400, now C-17, next up the C-5 Galaxy.... :D


Dahedd
Member
Posts: 519
Joined: 06 May 2015, 11:18

Re: C-17A Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby Dahedd » 10 Jul 2017, 21:24

:shock:
Amazing. Must be the biggest thing to fly through there ?

Smokey
Member
Posts: 272
Joined: 18 Feb 2017, 13:33
Location: Cyprus

Re: C-17A Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby Smokey » 10 Jul 2017, 22:11

Dahedd wrote::shock:
Amazing. Must be the biggest thing to fly through there ?


Time to petition parliament for a VC25A when Trump visits.

Timmymagic
Senior Member
Posts: 1552
Joined: 07 May 2015, 23:57
Location: United Kingdom

Re: C-17A Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby Timmymagic » 11 Jul 2017, 10:02

Dahedd wrote:Amazing. Must be the biggest thing to fly through there ?


Can't imagine anything bigger ever going through....unless a B-1 into Fairford decides to have a crack...

Dahedd
Member
Posts: 519
Joined: 06 May 2015, 11:18

Re: C-17A Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby Dahedd » 11 Jul 2017, 10:50

I was wondering if a Vulcan might have gone through at some state though ?

User avatar
SKB
Senior Member
Posts: 6119
Joined: 30 Apr 2015, 18:35
Location: England

Re: C-17A Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby SKB » 11 Jul 2017, 10:53

Dahedd wrote:I was wondering if a Vulcan might have gone through at some state though ?


;)

dmereifield
Senior Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: 03 Aug 2016, 20:29
Location: United Kingdom

Re: C-17A Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby dmereifield » 11 Jul 2017, 11:06

SKB wrote:
Dahedd wrote:I was wondering if a Vulcan might have gone through at some state though ?


;)


Wow

Timmymagic
Senior Member
Posts: 1552
Joined: 07 May 2015, 23:57
Location: United Kingdom

Re: C-17A Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby Timmymagic » 11 Jul 2017, 13:26

XH558 did do some runs down some valleys, not the Mach Loop, not exactly in the weeds but very impressive, I'll see if I can find them...

User avatar
The Armchair Soldier
Site Admin
Posts: 1507
Joined: 29 Apr 2015, 08:31
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Boeing C-17 Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby The Armchair Soldier » 13 Sep 2017, 13:48

RAF C-17's are assisting the French with their relief efforts in St Martin:




Dahedd
Member
Posts: 519
Joined: 06 May 2015, 11:18

Re: Boeing C-17 Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby Dahedd » 13 Sep 2017, 16:28

Bet the French AF are wishing they'd been able to pick up the 'white tail' C17s before they all went. Domestic French politics would have probably scuppered any purchase I guess.

User avatar
SKB
Senior Member
Posts: 6119
Joined: 30 Apr 2015, 18:35
Location: England

Re: Boeing C-17 Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby SKB » 18 Feb 2018, 13:34




User avatar
Poiuytrewq
Senior Member
Posts: 1674
Joined: 15 Dec 2017, 10:25
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Boeing C-17 Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby Poiuytrewq » 01 May 2018, 11:23

Does anyone know how long it would take to get a Merlin or Wildcat operational after being transported in a C-17?

User avatar
shark bait
Senior Member
Posts: 5885
Joined: 05 May 2015, 21:18
Location: Pitcairn Island

Re: Boeing C-17 Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby shark bait » 01 May 2018, 11:42

A couple of hours. Not unreasonable to fly a handful out and get them flying within a day.
@LandSharkUK

User avatar
SKB
Senior Member
Posts: 6119
Joined: 30 Apr 2015, 18:35
Location: England

Re: Boeing C-17 Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby SKB » 01 May 2018, 11:46

Poiuytrewq wrote:Does anyone know how long it would take to get a Merlin or Wildcat operational after being transported in a C-17?

*

User avatar
shark bait
Senior Member
Posts: 5885
Joined: 05 May 2015, 21:18
Location: Pitcairn Island

Re: Boeing C-17 Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby shark bait » 01 May 2018, 11:59

that folding isn't enough, they have to detach the tail to make it fit.
@LandSharkUK

Little J
Member
Posts: 584
Joined: 02 May 2015, 14:35
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Boeing C-17 Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby Little J » 01 May 2018, 12:29

What happened to that weird cradle that was tested back when the septic's wanted Merlin? Didn't need to take bits off with that, did they?

topman
Member
Posts: 356
Joined: 07 May 2015, 20:56
Location: Tokelau

Re: Boeing C-17 Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby topman » 01 May 2018, 18:28

shark bait wrote:A couple of hours. Not unreasonable to fly a handful out and get them flying within a day.


I wonder where you got that figure from?

downsizer
Member
Posts: 790
Joined: 02 May 2015, 08:03

Re: Boeing C-17 Globemaster III (RAF)

Postby downsizer » 01 May 2018, 19:34

topman wrote:
shark bait wrote:A couple of hours. Not unreasonable to fly a handful out and get them flying within a day.


I wonder where you got that figure from?


All his first hand experience obvs!


Return to “Royal Air Force”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 

 

cron